Five research institutions in one week

My home institution is the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Stellenbosch University, in the outskirts of Cape Town. Because 60% of my effort is paid by the Medical Research Council, however, I serve as a bioinformatics resource to tuberculosis researchers, regardless of their institution. On a recent week, my duties took me to five different institutions. This post invites you to come along for the ride!

Monday: Tygerberg Campus

The first day of each week generally finds me perched at my computer in an office shared with three colleagues. They are each quite impressive scientists. One is a professor, another is a database administrator, and the newest member is a lab safety manager. All three of them work long hours. We added a whiteboard on the door this week to keep track of where each of us may be found.

IMG_5373

What can I say? I like maps.

My chief project at the Tygerberg campus for this week has been establishing a small cluster of computers for the Mycobacteriology Molecular Evolution and Physiology group. The recent loss of a server destroyed some assemblies of genomic sequencing data for them. I brought seven i7 processing nodes from my old lab. We spent much of Monday afternoon consolidating memory to produce four computers with 8GB or more of RAM (even microbial genomes can take a fair amount of RAM for assembly). We installed Ubuntu Linux on the computers since the assembly software requires that operating system. The group promises to keep the processors busy in the coming weeks!

Tuesday: Groote Schuur

The Faculty of Health Sciences for the University of Cape Town is based at Groote Schuur Hospital (this is not pronounceable by an American, but try HREE-ta SKEW). I work on Stellenbosch hours, which means I arrive at UCT long before most visitors. I had two institutions to visit on this Tuesday: the Centre for Proteomics and Genomics Research and the UCT health sciences campus itself. CPGR and I had talked about a large-scale proteomic survey spanning more than one hundred patients, so I brought along a portable hard drive to collect the mass spectrometry data. I have enjoyed talking with their proteomics team, so engaging in a legitimate collaboration with them is a great opportunity.

IMG_2763

Just after sunrise, Anzio Road’s intersection with the M4 is quite pretty.

I walked up Anzio Road to the UCT Health Sciences Campus. I used my recently acquired badge (I’ve become an honorary professor at UCT) to card into the campus and then used it again to enter the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (abbreviated the “IDM“). I had a great meeting with a post-doctoral fellow in SATVI. She has been waiting very patiently for me to analyze cell populations in a large flow cytometry data set associated with IRIS (Immune Reconstitution Inflammatory Syndrome, a severe condition that sometimes results when a person with HIV infection begins anti-retroviral therapy). At long last, we could begin visualizing the results from this huge study!

IMG_2771

The IDM feels both modern and classic to me.

I returned to my normal haunt at UCT, the Blackburn Lab. I had already filled my morning with other meetings, but I could still get some updates on projects from his graduate students and post-docs. At two in the afternoon, we had our weekly community proteomics meeting. Once a month, we put on a special two-hour program devoted to a special topic (for example, the next special program discussed strategies for publishing effectively in proteomics). After that meeting ended, I was on the road back to my usual neighborhood.

Wednesday: Tygerberg Campus

Upon my return to my home campus, I had the usual crush of email to field, due to my time at UCT the prior day. Working with so many institutions has led to a proliferation of email accounts; at the moment I monitor two accounts from back in the States plus my Google account, and I’ve picked up accounts for both Stellenbosch University and University of Cape Town. I expect that most messages will come to my Google account or my Stellenbosch account, but manuscript review requests frequently show up elsewhere.

IMG_5369

Poking the beast in the bioinformatics cave

I decided to give another afternoon to the mini-cluster. Having four computers running Linux is nice, but wouldn’t it be better if the operators didn’t have to physically connect a monitor to each to use it? Shouldn’t we have some files shared among the computers? I hauled out the network switch and wired them up. The information technology folks registered the MAC addresses of the network adapters for use in the FISAN building where they are located. I installed a big hard drive in the head computer and installed NFS and OpenSSH on it. On the other three computers, I installed NFS-COMMON and OpenSSH, each time configuring them to look to “Beast1” for the /scratch file system. Now users can launch jobs over SSH to the other three computers while logged in from Beast1. I felt that these computers had crossed over the transom to become worth using, and I breathed a sigh of relief.

Thursday: University of the Western Cape

I have only recently begun working regularly with the Proteomics Unit of the UWC Biotechnology program, but I have really enjoyed the interaction. I have found myself thinking about proteogenomics in a rather different light to support their work with non-model organisms. To identify proteins in Capsicum frutescens, we needed to know which proteins are encoded by the genome of this organism. Happily, we found an RNA-Seq paper that included assembled transcripts that we could employ in database search algorithms for proteomics. More recently the UWC team has been challenging me with a different plant. We found RNA-Seq data, but not the assembly produced by the authors. It has been fun building a team to infer a proper protein catalog for the species.

One of my favorite games to play with my old lab group was “Where’s the Paper?” We would work our way around the table, with each person discussing what he or she was working on. Then we’d try to figure out the best paper that could be produced from that work. That game has come in handy at UWC, as well. We’re trying to find the best manuscripts among the data that this team has been generating. I have faith in these folks!

IMG_5406

The Life Sciences Building is easily visible from the adjoining M10: Robert Sobukwe Rd.

UWC is also notable for having some of the best buildings of any campus in the area. For years it languished behind the better-funded UCT and Stellenbosch Universities, but the democratically-elected government since 1994 has spent substantial funds on the campus. The Life Sciences and Chemical Sciences buildings are gorgeous, and they would not look out of place on any American campus. One can add another nice feature of the campus; it sits adjacent to the Cape Flats Nature Reserve. I love the plants in view as I make my way along West Drive.

IMG_5398

The cape flats range from marsh to sandy fynbos.

I returned to the Tygerberg campus of Stellenbosch in the afternoon for the first rehearsal of the “Singing Sensations,” a group of academic staff who are preparing three songs for the annual gala. This year’s program will celebrate sixty years of the Stellenbosch Medical School!

Friday: Stellenbosch University, main campus

My Friday morning began at a large conference room on the floor below mine in the FISAN buiding. The Tuberculosis groups have grown so much that we cannot easily fit into our own seminar room. Three Honours students presented their plans for their research projects to a packed house, and professors peppered them with questions. The presenters did not wilt, happily. For my American readers, I would explain that Honours students have completed their three-year Bachelor’s degrees and are adding another year to prepare them for their chosen graduate program, in this case with Molecular Biology or with Human Genetics at the med school of Stellenbosch University.

I had become excited about seeing the computer cluster in operation again, and I tried to identify which parts I would need to get the other three processors in action again. A few months ago, I had a nasty surprise when I plugged one of the units into the wall. The very loud POP and sizzle had me checking my eyebrows; I needed to flip a switch on the power supply to enable it to use the doubled voltage of South African power outlets. Replacing the ITX power supply on that case seems a bit challenging here in South Africa; the university’s two main parts suppliers do not carry them. I put together a quote that includes a new case and power supply.

IMG_1886

The A. I. Perold building on the Stellenbosch main campus

With the morning gone, it was time for me to hit the road for Stellenbosch University’s main campus, which is in (wait for it) Stellenbosch. From the outskirts of Cape Town, the drive lasts less than an hour. I parked near the Perold Building (number 65 on the campus map) and walked up the stairs to the offices of the Dean of Science, Prof Louise Warnich. I visit the main campus every two weeks, usually with my friend and colleague Gerard Tromp, but this was a solo week since he was traveling. I was really grateful that my friend Professor Heinrich Volschenk was available to talk. We have been planning a tutorial session with Laurent Gatto for the end of October. We will teach students how to make use of the R statistical environment and Bioconductor in making sense of their proteomic data. Heinrich and I framed the key topics we want to address with the students. I think it will be quite a good program!

It was a busy week, but quite a rewarding one. I love the diversity of projects that I can influence here.

3 thoughts on “Five research institutions in one week

  1. Pingback: Should you leave the United States? | Picking Up The Tabb

  2. Pingback: An extraordinary journey in three universities | Picking Up The Tabb

Leave a Reply

