5 Things the Township Taught Me

Disco Pants and the Mountain was one of the first blogs I turned to when trying to learn something of the country to which I would eventually move. Here, the author takes us into a township along the coast north of Cape Town.

The Disco Pants Blog

Gugulethu-006 

Countless times since starting this blog I have been accused of being privileged and clueless and white, and when I am told this about myself my only stance ever is to agree with my reader wholeheartedly. I am all of those things. In fact, I would venture to say that I am more privileged even than some people who read me imagine. Last week the hardest decision I was called upon to make was between the salmon and the tuna sashimi. Both looked delicious; it was a tough call.

I have also been told I write exclusively to and for white people, another statement which is 100% on the button. The thing is, I am a white person (if you don’t believe me there’s the flattering About pic my husband took of me one summer when all I’d eaten that month was air) and I suspect that if I…

View original post 1,420 more words

One thought on “5 Things the Township Taught Me

  1. Pingback: Northern Cape: A Surprising Meeting with Casualties of the Struggle at Upington | Picking Up The Tabb

Leave a Reply

