I visit the main campus of Colorado State University.

Preparing to move out

The last eleven days have brought considerable change.  I will start a job this week, file for a temporary residence permit in South Africa as swiftly as possible, and have contracted to sell my Nashville home at the end of October.  It all started with a video conference on September 18th with a principal investigator at Colorado State and another at Stellenbosch University.  As described in my preceding blog post, we decided to move in two directions at once, where I begin collaboration with Colorado State at the same time as I press to begin my move to South Africa.  That strategy has already borne considerable fruit.

The first outcome was a change in my planned road trip to Kansas City.  The morning after I arrived at the home of my parents, I hopped back in my car to continue to Ft. Collins, CO.  I was able to visit with the team of scientists at the Colorado State Foothills Campus who investigate tuberculosis and other microbial diseases.  I was gratified to see that the CDC maintains a facility just a short walk away from the Research Innovation Center.

Dave visits the Foothills Campus of Colorado State

Dave visits the Foothills Campus of Colorado State

During my time in Ft. Collins, I filed paperwork with human resources.  As of October 1st, I will be a “Visiting Scientist” at Colorado State.  This position will allow me to begin work on the shared goals between this university and Stellenbosch.  It will certainly be a relief to have some money coming into my bank accounts and not merely out of them!  I also visited with the Proteomics and Metabolomics Facility on the main campus.  I hope to learn more about the unique bioinformatics pipeline they have assembled for fielding Waters MSE data.  I felt grateful that we could accomplish so much in one day’s visit.

After a few days with my family in Kansas City, I returned to Nashville last night.  In the course of that drive, I finalized a contract to sell my home in Nashville on October 30th.  As I learned just before arriving in Cuba, a contract to sell one’s home is not a perfect guarantee that it will happen, but I’m excited, just the same.  The timing would be nearly ideal.  In order to sell my house by that date, though, I also need to schedule the shipping container  [click it, if only for the music!] that will carry my furniture to Cape Town.  I will be without my things for two months, but I hope I’ll be able to live out of suitcases for that interval.

Today I hope to acquire the last documents I will need to file my Department of Home Affairs 1738 form, requesting a Temporary Residence Permit by the Critical Skills route.  Once I file the 1738 (hopefully within a week), I will expect to leave the country within a month and a half.  In fact, the document asks the date of the flight that will take me to South Africa.  I expect that my flight to Cape Town will be possible by early November.

The clock is ticking!

One thought on “Preparing to move out

  1. Roger Moore

    While you’re in Fort Collins, I strongly recommend going down to Loveland to visit the Benson Park Sculpture Garden. It’s a genuinely great art collection, and definitely worth the trip from Fort Collins.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

