I’m bona fide

Yesterday’s mail brought some welcome news.  After consideration of my diplomas and transcripts, the South African Qualifications Authority has verified my undergraduate education at the University of Arkansas (1996) and my graduate education at the University of Washington (2003).  Presumably that verification has been recorded in the National Learners’ Records Database, and SAQA has forwarded its verification of my degrees to Stellenbosch University, my next employer.

Does that mean I can now move to South Africa?  No!  This means that I have cleared the first hurdle, and now I can move on to the next, gaining membership in SACNASP, the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions.  Once that membership is in place, I can make application to the Department of Home Affairs.

For now, though, I can celebrate the completion of the first step!  “Bona fide” means “with good faith,” and happily SAQA has verified my educational history.  I cannot help but think of “O Brother, Where Art Thou” in connection with the phrase!

One thought on “I’m bona fide

  1. Pingback: Teaching on the sly | Picking Up The Tabb

Leave a Reply

